Keynote Speakers

Prof. Andrew M. Jones

Professor of Economics at the University of York

Andrew Jones is Professor of Economics at the University of York, UK, where he was Head of the Department of Economics and Related Studies from 2011 to 2015. He was Director of the MSc in Health Economics at York between 1994 and 2011 and during that time there were over 500 graduates from more than 70 different countries. He has also supervised 23 PhD students. He is a joint editor of Health Economics and he edited the Elgar Companion to Health Economics which was published in 2006 with 50 concise chapters that review the state-of-the-art in the field.  A second edition of the Companion was published in 2012. In the RePEc rankings, which average 34 bibliometric indicators, he is ranked in the top 3% of over 40,000 economists worldwide ( He has published more than 70 peer-reviewed articles, has over 6000 citations and an h-index of 38 (Google Scholar). He does research in microeconometrics and health economics with particular interests in the determinants of health, the economics of addiction and socioeconomic inequalities in health and health care. He is author of the chapter 'health econometrics' in the Elsevier Handbook of Health Economics and of chapters in the Oxford Handbooks of Health Economics, Economic Forecasting, and Panel Data and the Palgrave Handbook of Econometrics. He has a particular interest in developing and disseminating the use of applied econometrics in health economics. In 1992 he established the European Workshops on Econometrics and Health Economics, which are co-organised with Owen O'Donnell.  Andrew is the research director of the Health, Econometrics and Data Group (HEDG) at the University of York and is a visiting professor at the University of Bergen and at Monash University. He was an elected member of the International Health Economics Association (iHEA) Executive Board, 2011-2014, and chaired their Arrow Award committee, 2014-16. He is president of the European Health Economics Association (EuHEA) for 2016-18.

More information >

Back to keynote speakers